• Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Every year the San Diego Performing Arts League honors volunteers from 30 local arts organizations for “the indispensable role they play in the arts community.” These are the behind-the-scenes self-starters, the pitch-inners, often the glue that makes productions happen. They rarely attract notice, or even ask for it.


Heidi Maretz, Actor’s Conservatory Theatre

Molly Bowman, Balboa Theatre Organ Foundation

Kathy Parks, Coronado Playhouse

Dawn Bongiovanni, Coronado School of the Arts and Coronado Schools Foundation

Lynne Thrope, Ph.D., Cygnet Theatre

Kathi Diamant, Horton Plaza Theatres Foundation

Diane Carpinelli, Howard Finnecy, Carol Ann Flanagan, Deborah Pantone, Julie Ustin, Ion Theatre

Karen Leibowitz, J*Company Youth Theatre

Philip Liburd, Elva Salinas, La Jolla Playhouse

Gay Hybersten, Looking Glass Theatre

Lauren Luhmann, Mojalet Dance Collective

Bob Jones, North Coast Repertory Theatre

Teri Brown, Sue Roos, OnStage Playhouse

Shelly Benoit, Point Loma Playhouse

Patrick J. Ambrosio, Samahan Filipino American Performing Arts & Education Center

Laura Holtan, San Diego Actors Theatre

Linda Lee, San Diego Master Chorale

Sylvia Enrique, San Diego Repertory Theatre

Lisa Sandie Jager, San Diego Shakespeare Society

Bob Russakoff, San Diego Symphony

Judy and Tom Splitgerber, Scripps Ranch Theatre

Barry Long, Southern California Ballet

George Hardy, Spreckels Organ Society

Renee Berg, STAR Repertory Theatre

Manuel (Memo) Cavada and Kent Brisby, Teatro Mascara Magica

Trixi Anne Agiao, Visionary School for the Performing Arts

Jamie Coleman, Young Actor’s Theatre

Dr. Terry O’Donnell, Young Audiences of San Diego


The event also recognizes volunteers under 30 “who help give promise to the future of the arts”

Greg Peer, Classics 4 Kids

Danya Greenberg, J*Company Youth Theatre

Rachel Torres, Malashock Dance

Alexander Barwin, North Coast Repertory Theatre

Bernardo Mazon, OnStage Theatre, San Diego Repertory Theatre

Cataline Jewel Zelles, San Diego Shakespeare Society

Max Nanis, Spreckels Organ Society

Andrew Morales, STAR Repertory Theatre

John Lopez, Teatro Mascara Magica

Eva Anderson, Visionary School for the Performing Arts

Jonathan Hoagland, Young Actors’ Theatre

The 23rd Star Awards will take place Monday, February 1, at the Lyceum Theatre, 79 Horton Plaza, starting at 7:00 p.m. Come early. That way you can congratulate the honorees before as well as after.

  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


Sign in to comment