• Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Lyceum Theatre

79 Horton Plaza, Downtown San Diego

The San Diego Performing Arts League is an umbrella organization dedicated to promoting local arts groups. The SDPL operates the Arts Tix booth at Horton Plaza (selling discount and full-price tickets) and the ArtsTix website.

On Monday, February 24, the Performing Arts League will present its 21st Annual Star Awards. Each organization names a special volunteer for the honor. These are the tireless, dedicated, “without whom not” folks who are often as indispensable as they are unknown.

And they don’t keep score, or demand credit; they just do whatever need doing — be it sweeping floors, tracking down a prop, marketing, financial aid, or just unconditional support of the enterprise, in particular, and the arts in general.

The Performing Arts League announces the winners in advance, in part so that they can receive congratulations before, as well as after, the ceremony.

This year’s winners — and each is a tale of untold dedication — are:

  • ACT-San Diego – Carol Spencer
  • Bach Collegium San Diego – Gary Payne
  • The Balboa Theatre Foundation – Ross Porter
  • Coronado Playhouse – Margarito G. Perez
  • Ion theatre company – Jen Sparkman
  • J*Company Youth Theatre – Julie Tedde
  • La Jolla Playhouse – Emilie Stone
  • Lamb’s Players Theatre – Kate Bower
  • Looking Glass Theatre – Elsie Sleeter
  • New Village Arts – Scott L. White
  • The PGK Dance Project – Robin Worley
  • Point Loma Actors Theatre – John Lee
  • PowPAC, Poway’s Community Theatre – Lynn Wolsey
  • St. Paul’s Cathedral Center for the Performing and Visual Arts – Bill Eadie
  • San Diego Center for Jewish Culture – Randy Savarese
  • San Diego Children’s Choir – Terri Gelbart
  • San Diego Civic Dance Association – Lola Thomas
  • San Diego Master Chorale – Loydene Keith
  • San Diego Performing Arts League – Barbara Maisel
  • San Diego School of Creative and Performing Arts – Miguel Capuchino
  • San Diego Shakespeare Society – Susan Abernethy and Tara Pool
  • San Diego Symphony – Donna Bullock
  • Scripps Ranch Theatre – Ginny Ollis
  • Southern California Ballet – Danielle Murphy
  • UC San Diego Department of Theatre and Dance – Heather Ramey
  • Vantage Theatre – Marti Kranzberg
  • Visionary Dance Theatre – Alicia Warren

The ceremony also recognizes “Emerging Stars”: volunteers “under 30 years of age who help give promise to the future of the arts.”

  • J*Company Youth Theatre – Elisa Greenberg
  • San Diego Shakespeare Society – Frederick Persons and Joshua Persons
  • Visionary Dance Theatre – Sarah Miller
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader