Like a five-year-old on Red Bull, Markland’s Tunker is something to see.
  • Like a five-year-old on Red Bull, Markland’s Tunker is something to see.
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

O.B. rockers Markland will release its debut self-titled full-length on June 28 at the Ocean Beach Street Fair, headlining the Wonderland Stage from 5 until 6 p.m. Produced by Michael Head at Headtrap Music Studio in La Mesa, the album features brothers Aaron and Justin Markland, along with their father Steve “Tunker” Markland and drummer Randy Jones. “Join us and you’ll enjoy Tunker, a 220-pound harmonica player with the energy of a five-year-old on Red Bull, dancing around the stage,” promises Aaron Markland.

Space-rock duo High Mountain Tempel are debuting their newest aural existentialism Gnosis on June 28 at the Bancroft in Spring Valley. Teen rockers Big Bad Buffalo will support their new American album (produced by Rafter Roberts) with a West Coast tour kicking off July 6 at the Ché Café and ending at the Casbah on July 14.

Hard rockers My Iron Lung are dropping their debut full-length Relief on July 8, recorded at Panda Studios in Fremont and released by Pure Noise Records.

Jason Mraz’s full-length Yes! drops July 15, with a single called “Love Someone” now available. The acoustic album features the all-female folk group Raining Jane and instrumentation including cello, sitar, ukuleles, and “other small stringed instruments.”

Markos Tegui’s debut full-length, Who Is Markos Tegui, produced by Chauncey Chamberlain, Pro-Payne Beatz, and others, drops July 19 at Stronghold in Barrio Logan, for a bill that includes Plain J.A.N.E., Trappa Q, and Lady Jemini.

Jon Kanis’s new anthology All-American Mongrel Boy (1989–2014) features 18 songs, including six previously unreleased tracks and selections from the Walk Without Me EP, the A Pair of Opposites EP, and 2005’s Cabalistic Dispatch (recorded with Mike Keneally).

The soundtrack for the documentary film A Box Full of Rocks: The El Cajon Years of Lester Bangs includes tracks by Jerry Raney’s 1960s/’70s rock band Thee Dark Ages (who frequently jammed with rock critic Bangs), as well as contributions by Robert Williams (Captain Beefheart), Jack Gimble, and the Flying Sandolini.

Vokab Kompany has a new track “Show Up feat. Siya,” recorded with Canadian producer Knight Riderz and featuring Siya of Oxygen Media Network’s T.I.-produced Sisterhood of Hip-Hop.

Multiple-SDMA Best Acoustic winner Colin Clyne’s new single, “Merry Go Round,” from his upcoming album The Never Ending Pageant, was produced by local Grammy-winner Alan Sanderson (Rolling Stones, Elton John) for Fat Hippy Records, label home of The Voice runner-up Terry McDermott.

  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!