• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Early copies of They Might Be Giants’ last CD, The Else, came with bonus disc Cast Your Pod to the Wind, a grab bag of 23 songs collected from the band's podcasts. The freebie proved more enjoyable than the studio release, and now we have Join Us, which continues in the spirit of Cast Your Pod.

Join Us is the most solid Giants album since John Henry and their funniest since Flood. The two Johns (Flansburgh and Linnell) may have aged a bit since those two discs were released in the early ’90s, but their ideas are still intriguing and their wit remains. Flansburgh delivers some greatness via the simple pop of "Old Pine Box," the manic "In Fact," and the should’ve-been-a-Who-anthem "Judy Is Your Vietnam." Linnell’s particular genius shines on the futuristic electro-pop exercise "2082" and closer "You Don't Like Me." The latter details the data collected by a mind reader at a party who is disliked by the object of his affection. We learn his subject enjoys "booster rockets, cutting with a fork, Terminator 2, the morning, and William Tell."

Weird lyrics and strong hooks are the Giants’ bread and butter, and Join Us is their tastiest slab this century.

  • Album: Join Us (2011)
  • Artist: They Might Be Giants
  • Label: Rounder
  • Songs: Can't Keep Johnny Down, You Probably Get That A Lot, Old Pine Box, Canajoharie, Cloisonne, Let Your Hair Hang Down, Celebration, In Fact, When Will You Die, Protagonist, Judy Is Your Vietnam, Never Knew Love, The Lady and the Tiger, Spoiler Alert, Dog Walker, 2082, Three Might Be Duende, You Don't Like Me
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!