Canadian five-piece You Say Party! We Say Die! hasn't changed its dance-punk sound on their latest, XXXX, but has darkened its sonic palette and refined its arrangements. The band's sound has matured, filling up spaces that had listeners wanting more. Vocals have become richer, more level, as the collection reaches beyond punk and new wave limitations.

"Make XXXX" and "She's Spoken For" are nervy, danceable fillers that emphasize the punk side of the band. "There Is XXXX (Within My Heart)" and "Heart of Gold" are both haunting and melancholic ballads that betray Becky Ninkovic's usually antagonistic, bratty vocals. "Cosmic Wanship Avengers" and "Glory" are reminiscent of the band's original tone, incorporating the Siouxsie sound to which YSP!WSD! have been frequently compared.

One will conclude after a thorough listen that the four Xs in the album's title stand for "LOVE," the emotion that permeates this set. With XXXX, YSD!WSD! has tenderized a sinister genre.

  • Album title: XXXX (2010)
  • Artist: You Say Party! We Say Die!
  • Label: Paper Bag Records
  • Songs: (1) There Is XXXX (Within My Heart) (2) Glory (3)Dark Days (4)
  • Cosmic Wanship Avengers (5) Lonely's Lunch (6) Make XXXX (7) Laura
  • Palmer's Prom (8) She's Spoken For (9) XXXX/Loyalty (10) Heart of Gold

More from SDReader


andie Feb. 21, 2010 @ 2:34 p.m.

Sounds like sweet sounds I'll definitely check these guys out!


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!