• Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Young Mass brought together San Diego’s hip-hop standouts on his new compilation The Best of Daygo City. Mass takes you on a trip around Daygo City's diverse hip-hop scene with 22 tracks showing off the city's underground, gangsta, and mainstream talent.

"Product of My Environment," the record's opener, exemplifies Mass' vocal and production skills as he spits triumphantly over a classic West Coast, Dr. Dre-style piano riff. Mass lends his vocals to three other cuts on the album, including the "You Don't Have to Be a Star"-themed track "Celebrity Girl" alongside smooth-flow R&B singer J. Young.

On "San Diego Is the Combination," Verbz teams up with Blame One and Deep Rooted MC Mr. Brady to spew clever SD couplets ("Social Distortion/Snakes Deception/Stack Dollars/Stayin Deep/Songs Done"), but it's the barrage of SD-themed cuts by DJ Demon on the turntables that make this track classic.

Lady rapper Ms. Kitty trades rhymes with beau I-Rocc on a seductive, sexed-up journey from the club to the bedroom. Newcomer Shavone C rhyme's well beyond her 19 years of age, over a canary chirp-driven beat on "Baddest Chick Around," and Latin lovely Vision tops off a top-notch showing by Daygo City's hip-hop ladies.

To date, the most successful acts out of SD have been gangsta-style rappers Jayo Felony and Mitchy Slick, so no compilation out of our city would be complete without a few heaters representing. One of the CD's best is by the MCs of DieNasty Records when they combine with SiccMade, Crhymes, and Ecay Uno on a lyrical slaughter of everyone in their path called "19:04."

From Pacific Beach party group Outta Control's feel good jam "Come Correct" to the introspective style of Jimmy Powers on "Same James," you will be wondering why SD's hip-hop scene has not blown up yet. Maybe it will after the world gets a whiff of this joint!

Editor's note: This review was written by one of the record's producers.

Album title: Young Mass Presents...the Best of Daygo City
Artist: Various artists
Label: Jake Records

Album Mp3s

Album cover art
Young Mass Presents the Best of Daygo City

No MP3s are currently available for this album.

More on Various

More on Young Mass

  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


40ozChris Dec. 10, 2009 @ 7:35 p.m.

1 – Young Mass - "Daygo City Intro"

2 – Outlaw Order "Product Of My Environment" f/ Young Mass, H-Ryda, New Child, Cutthroat www.hryda.com Produced By: Young Mass

3 - Verbz "San Diego is the Combination" f/ Blame One & Mr. Brady www.myspace.com/verbz Cuts: DJ Demon / Produced By: Verbz

4 – Kitty "Work My Kitty" f/ I-Rocc & Harmoney www.myspace.com/kittykatmeooow - Twitter: @kittykatmeooow Produced by: Batkave

5 – J. Young & Young Mass "Celebrity Girl" www.myspace.com/theoriginaljyoung Produced By: Young Mass

6 – Black Cotton "I.Y.I.F.L.Y." www.theblackcotton.com - www.myspace.com/theblackcotton Twitter: @TheBlackCotton Produced By: Marrel

7 – Tha Cor "Smoke And Get High" f/ Muddy H20 www.myspace.com/thacor619 Twitter: @Crhymes619 Produced By: E-Man

8 – HeatRok "Feelin Like Ooh Wee" www.myspace.com/heatroksd Twitter: @HeatRok Produced By: t6

9 - Juice "Bounce (Keep It On The LoLo)" f/ Nasty-O www.myspace.com/kojuice2 - www.kojuice.com Twitter: @Kojuice Produced By: The BeatBoyz

10 –O.C.T./Outta Control "Come Correct" www.myspace.com/outtacontroloct Twitter: @OCTMusic Produced By: Arsenic

11 - Jimmy Powers "Same James" www.myspace.com/jpowers Twitter: @JimmyPowersSD Produced By: Longevity

12 - Young Mass "Free" www.myspace.com/massterpiece - www.youngmass.com Twitter: @MassterpieceEnt @Mass2020 Produced By: C-Dash

13 – Kayo "2 Tha Hataz (I’m Hot)" www.myspace.com/beatsbykayo - www.lifestyleofahustler.com Twitter: @Beatsbykayo Produced By: Young Mass

14 – Bloodstone And Princess "Gangstas Don’t Dance" www.myspace.com/buprecordsent Produced By: Ecay Uno

15 - Pac 10 "So So Fresh (remix)" f/1019, Just Chill, Acromic, Mr. Oda, Parker www.magflux.net - www.myspace.com/parkerthenumberman Twitters: @Pac10MF - @MagFlux - @Acromic - @DjWindzOne - @ParkerNumberman @WHATtheFERCH - @Magneticmogul Produced By: Acromic

16 – Shavone C. "Baddest Chick Around" www.myspace.com/shavonecmusik Twitter: @SHAVONEC Produced By: James Wilson

17- Play B. "Angel" f/ Young Mass & Kayo www.myspace.com/playb619 Twitter: @Playb619 Produced By: Young Mass

18 - Bucky Adams "Yaddada" f/ Yada & Majesty Da P www.myspace.com/kaliforniabears Produced By: Bucky Adams

19 – DieNasty Records "19:04" f/ Ecay Uno, Sicc Made & Crhymes www.DieNastyRecords.com Twitter: @KaliburDieNasty Produced By: Ecay Uno

20 – Vision "Quit Frontin" www.myspace.com/visioncomplex Twitter: @VISIONCOMPLEX Produced By: Miklo Sanchez

21 – Mr. Ridley "Danger, Danger!" f/ Bazerkowitz, Trust 1 & Matlock www.myspace.com/mrridley - www.myspace.com/theanticitizens Twitter: @Mrridley Cuts: DJ Marcellus Wallace / Produced By: Mr. Ridley

22 – Young Mass - "The Best Of Outro"


shavonec Dec. 11, 2009 @ 9:32 a.m.


Cop that compilation yall!! & support Local artists and local music! Hear more of Shavone C. Music at my mixtape download link--> http://bit.ly/eoSXj

-Shavone C.


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader