• Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Local hip-hop artists Kayo, Play B, and Young Mass are joining forces as the Three Rappers.

“We’re doing it mainly because there is a lack of unity [in San Diego],” says Kayo.

“We got Bloods and Crips all performing on the same bill,” says Kayo. “I mean, in Dago, you got a lot of pimping and gangbanging, so that is definitely a part of the Dago style. But with the city and its artists putting the BS to the side for events like this, we’ll be on in no time.”

“San Diego is very game-filled,” says Young Mass. “Getting money is definitely one of the building blocks of what makes our sound; [it’s] very aggressive music. San Diego hip-hop has been overlooked for so long, being overlooked has become a part of our musical style.”

“Our mission is to start with local releases and compilations,” says Play B of the trio’s recording aspirations. “We know it is possible to thrive without having music videos, Billboard hits, or major-label support.”

In addition to planned concerts, the trio has recorded together on songs such as “Dago City Ballers” (which is a new version of Young Mass’s song “Blue Skyy”) and “Angel.”

The Three Rappers appear tonight at the Static Lounge for a “Daygo Unity Concert” and tomorrow, August 8, at Brick by Brick’s “Road Warriors of Summer” show.

  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


40ozChris Aug. 6, 2008 @ 9:56 p.m.

Young Mass is nominated for a 2008 "San Diego Music Award" in the "Best Hip Hop Album" catagory for his self-titled debut! Check it out at: http://cdbaby.com/cd/youngmass or www.youngmass.com.

If the trio's compilation album has more tracks like the song "Angel", I am sure thease cats will do big things in 09'!

San Diego stand up!!!!!


Jay Allen Sanford Aug. 6, 2008 @ 11:17 p.m.

Unpublished addendum --------

Ten songs by local artists that define San Diego Hip-Hop. (Artist/Song/Album)

1 - Young Mass f/Digital Underground - “Blue Skyy” (Young Mass)

2 - Kayo - “Mill Sh-t” (One Hundred Percent Hustle)

3 - Jayo Felony - “Whatcha Gonna Do?” (Whatcha Gonna Do?)

4 - Mitchy Slick - “Drug Flippin” (Urban Survival Syndrome)

5 - Mitchy Slick - “Regular Nigg’n” (Triggeration Station)

6 - Cherry Chuck Gang - “Beer N Big” (Cherry Chuck Gang)

7 - Smigg Dirtee f/C.G., & Dago Braves - “Push” (Forgotten City)

8 - Play B. f/Young Mass, & Kayo - “Angel” (Unreleased)

9 - Dido Brown/Bonafide Camp f/Domino -“California” (Independent Out The Trunk)

10 - Tre "Tha Bizness" (The Real)


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader