• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

After five years away from the spotlight, Lily Allen has a lot to catch up on. For her homecoming record, Sheezus, the U.K. pop star spends a good time getting reacquainted with the current pop scene and her longtime fans. The result is a hot mess, but not without its charms.

Allen never shied away from giving her two cents, and Sheezus is no different. Her main singles cover the public scrutiny of a female pop star by the media. The intent is admirable, but it’s a hit or miss with her songs lacking the signature wit that once balanced her snark.

The more sincere and traditional tracks fare better, such as “Insincerely Yours” or “Life for Me.” Allen reflects on her love and stardom with a broader perspective. Though less gutsy, the songs are more personally rewarding. For fans, they double as updates on where she’s at emotionally.

Allen doesn’t quite succeed in re-establishing herself in the pop world with Sheezus. However, she wasn’t the one to conform to standards in the first place. Despite the mess, the singer still remains a defiant, exciting voice.

  • Album: Sheezus
  • Artist: Lily Allen
  • Label: Parlophone
  • Songs: (1) "Sheezus" (2) "L8 CMMR" (3) "Air Balloon" (4) "Our Time" (5) "Insincerely Yours" (6) "Take My Place" (7) "As Long as I Got You" (8) "Close Your Eyes" (9) "URL Badman" (10) "Silver Spoon" (11) "Life for Me" (12) "Hard Out Here" (13) "Interlude" (14) "Somewhere Only We Know"
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!