• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

After several delays, starlet Sky Ferreira has released her debut. Ferreira gained popularity last year with her glossy single “Everything Is Embarrassing,” and the synth-pop singer/model/actress appears to have improved her songcraft with a new sound and direction. The result is an album close to her leather-clad, chic public persona that often reveals her private pains.

The production on the record reveals the raw personality of Ferreira but with a clean finish, pairing sleek electric guitars and rough, booming drums. Songs such as “You’re Not the One” encapsulate this formula of '80s new wave pop shot through with '90s grunge.

Although publicly Ferreira presents a “whatever” cool, lyrically she shares deeply vulnerable moments. Highlight cut “I Blame Myself” confronts her history and rep presented by the media in an effort to start anew. She drops heavy, emotional content with a catchy hook.

It’s been a long time coming for Ferreira, and her debut is a product of its trials and tribulations. Ferreira’s songs are deeply personal, uniquely hers.

  • Album: Night Time, My Time
  • Artist: Sky Ferreira
  • Label: Capitol
  • Songs: (1) Boys (2) Ain't Your Right (3) 24 Hours (4) Nobody Asked Me (If I Was Okay) (5) I Blame Myself (6) Omanko (7) You're Not the One (8) Heavy Metal Heart (9) Kristine (10) I Will (11) Love in Stereo (12) Night Time, My Time
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!