• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

The Clavin sisters, members of L.A.-based indie act Mika Miko, have released their first album as Bleached. Jennifer (vocals/guitar) and Jessica (guitar) can affect deep, raw feeling as well as a cheery summer vibe through their balance of significant, relatable lyrics and inspiring beats.

“Next Stop,” the second song on Ride Your Heart, begins with contrasting drums and guitar that lead into a humming chorus. This melody makes you want to go for a drive and cruise along to the beat. The song has a Ramones-like feel, with its guitar breaks and repetitive chords.

Although “Next Stop” rocks, my personal favorite is the track “Searching Through the Past.” Reissued here from an earlier EP, “Searching” represents the heartache of love through a pop rhythm. Despite its blithe vibe, the lyrics expose love’s nostalgia. “I’ve been searching through the past/ Thinking about what we once had/ Boy don’t tell me I’m crazy/ I’ve been missing you so long.”

I cannot wait to see Bleached live and experience their energy in person, but until then, I will keep Ride Your Heart in my car stereo and dance on cruise control awaiting their next release.

  • Album: Ride Your Heart
  • Artist: Bleached
  • Label: Dead Oceans
  • Songs: (1) Looking For A Fight (2) Next Stop (3) Outta My Mind (4) Dead in Your Head (5) Dreaming Without You (6) Waiting by the Telephone (7) Love Spells (8) Searching Through the Past (9) Ride Your Heart (10) Dead Boy (11) Guy Like You (12) When I Was Yours
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!