• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Matisyahu's Spark Seeker is not a reggae album. On the first offering from the artist since his break with the Hasidic faith, Matisyahu deftly weaves traditional Hebrew chants and Middle Eastern textures with the ego of urban hip-hop. The album has a delicious summer-pop vibe, while it addresses some of the inner turmoil that the artist encounters as he continues to seek the truth and reflect upon his past.

Many of these songs would not seem out of place on a No Doubt, Drake, or Black Eyed Peas disc. The beats are bouncy and the cadences of the rhymes bring a club-like aspect to the timeless sentiments of loneliness and loss of love.

There are several standout tracks, including lead single "Sunshine" and the opening track "Crossroads," both of which use catchy electro sounds and a hip-hop backbeat. "Tel Avivin'" is another example of Matisyahu's intoxication with the club vibe.

Matisyahu continues to expand his musical vision by intertwining modern technology with mystical ideas. Spark Seeker is a step toward the elevation of deeply inspired dance-hall sounds.

  • Album: Spark Seeker
  • Artist: Matisyahu
  • Label: Fallen Sparks Record
  • Songs: 1. Crossroads (feat. J. Ralph) 2. Sunshine 3. Searchin' 4. Buffalo Soldier (feat. Shyne) 5. Fire of Freedom 6. Bel Shem Tov 7. I Believe In Love 8. Breathe Easy 9. Summer Wind 10. Live Like A Warrior 11. Tel Avivin' 12. King Crown of Judah 13. Shine On You
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!