• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

When I lived in San Francisco, one of my favorite outings was walking down to Amoeba Records on Haight Street for the free artist-promo concerts. The most memorable was an extended set by blues-rock act Los Lobos. They had just released their debut, Just Another Band from East L.A., which, more than 30 years ago, suggested they were a lot more than that title implied.

Their latest, Tin Can Trust, shows that Grammy-winning songwriting duo David Hidalgo and Louie Perez have just gotten better with age. There is not a bad cut on this CD. It opens with "Burn It Down," a rocking blues number featuring Susan Tedeschi on backup vocals. "On Main Street" captures head and hips with the easy lyric "Strolling down the boulevard with a little time on my side" set to a jazzy blues beat.

Tin Can includes a cover version of the Grateful Dead's "West L.A. Fadeaway” that’s as strong as the original. "All My Bridges Burning," written in collaboration with Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter will bring joy to any nostalgic Deadhead. "Do the Murray" is a twin-guitar blaster instrumental, while "Jupiter on the Moon" will haunt you. And in Los Lobos fashion, there are a couple Tex-Mex cantina songs that will have you reaching for another cerveza.

  • Album: Tin Can Trust
  • Artist: Los Lobos
  • Label: Shout Factory
  • Songs: (1) Burn It Down (2) On Main Street (3) Yo Canto (4) Tin Can Trust (5) Jupitor or the Moon (6) Do the Murray (7) All My Bridges Burning (8) West L.A. Fadeaway (9) The Lady and the Rose (10) Mujer Ingrata (11) 27 Spanishes
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!