• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

I guess it's in their DNA. There must have been a Yiddish progenitor of Dylans Bob and his son Jakob sitting around campfires with cowpokes singing and strumming. First came Bob's "Lay Lady Lay," and now Jakob on his second solo album, Women and Country, writing and singing country lyrics.

T-Bone Burnett, Oscar winner for the soundtrack of Crazy Heart, produced the album. There is not a bad song in the collection, if you like this genre, and there are familiar influences besides his dad -- Tom Waits, Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Springsteen, Alison Krauss, Rodney Crowell. "Smile When You Call Me That" sounds like something right out of Crowell and ex-wife Roseanne Cash's testy divorce songbook.

Many of the songs feature the emotive harmonies of Jakob and guests Neko Case and Kelly Hogan. The opening song, "Nothing But the Whole Wide World," is an example of Burnett's smooth studio sound. Other highlights are originals "Truth for a Truth," "Everybody's Hurting," and "Younder Come the Blues." This CD probably won't be a big seller, but it just as probably will end up on many critics' best album lists at year's end.

  • Album: Women and Country (2010)
  • Artist: Jakob Dylan
  • Label: Columbia
  • Songs: (1) Nothing But the Whole Wide World (2) Down on Our Shield (3) Lend a Hand (4) We Don't Live Here Anymore (5) Everybody's Hurting (6) Younder Come the Blues (7) Holly Rollers for Love (8) Truth for a Truth (9) They've Trapped us Boys (10) Smile When You Call Me That (11) Standing Eight Count
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!