Ernie Garcia: Bass guitar, Drums, Guitar (acoustic), Vocals | Greg Irwin: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Sean Cox: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Keyboards, Vocals | Jay Lauterwasser: Bass guitar | Marco Garza: Vocals

Genre: Rock

RIYL: Wilco, Built to Spill, the Beatles, the Decemberists, the Rolling Stones, Guided by Voices, Big Star, Ween, the Mother Hips, Jason Isbell, Amigo the Devil, Spoon, David Garza, Tom Petty, Flowerthief, Bandalier, Semisweet, Sinclairs, Lucy Ring, Moontucky Risin

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history

Song Downloads


Inception: Escondido, 2008

Ex-Band Members: Joel Shedroff, Bass guitar Aaron Luke, Drums Candice Campbell-Earnhart, Accordion, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals Samuel Forlines, Bass guitar Josh Chierichetti, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Ryan Shultzaberger, Percussion, Trumpet

Influences: Wilco, Flaming Lips, Ray Lamontagne, Built to Spill, the Rolling Stones, the Beatles, Tom Petty, GBV, the Mother Hips, Pink Floyd


Roger! was founded by singer/guitarist Ernesto Garcia Jr. (Sour Mash Jack, Stunt Double), aka Ernie Garcia, who moved from west Texas to southern California in 2000. Members have included drummer Aaron Luke (Moontucky Risin, Lost Dog), Candice Campbell-Earnhart (vocals, guitar, accordion), Joel Shedroff (bass), Josh Cherichetti (guitar), Samuel Forlines (bass), and Ryan Shultzaberger (percussion).

Their debut full-length Dark Matter was released in 2012. "Our best gig," says Garcia, "would have to be opening for local celebrity Javier Escovedo [the Zeroes, True Believers] at Til-Two. Although the show wasn't packed, it was an honor to meet and open for an influence of mine. Our worst show thus far was definitely at Old Cal Coffee in San Marcos. During a song, the owner jumped onstage and proceeded to start yelling and threatening the band for playing too loud. It was an appropriate volume for the outdoor venue, in my opinion. It was pretty awkward. I guess the owner was having a bad day."

A second album, Wishing for Boredom, was released in 2014, after which they embarked on a southwest tour. Whereas their debut was the exclusive brainchild of Garcia, the sophomore release was definitely more of a collaborative effort, with a bit more of a country sound, owing to Garcia's Texas roots. Primarily hashed out at Studio West in Rancho Bernardo, the LP consists of twelve new tracks, including a few penned by Candice Campbell-Earnhart and one by Ryan Shultzaberger.

Band guitarist at the time, Josh Cherichetti, graduated SDSU and moved back to OC in early 2014, so “We've been through about five guys since,” according to frontman Ernie Garcia at the time. They had friends fill in at shows and brought in Ritchie Orduno to finish the last few tracks on Wishing for Boredom. “We've also enlisted Greg Irwin from the Flowerthief, to help out with a few shows.” A concert album was released, Live in Long Beach.

Cherichetti rejoined in time to appear on their EP Circle of Willis, released in 2015 with a lineup also featuring Garcia with Samuel Forlines, Aaron Luke, and Ryan Shultzaberger.

Their 2016 full-length Tomorrow is Today features a lineup of Ernie Garcia, Aaron Luke, Sam Forlines, Josh Cherichetti, and Ryan Schultzaberger. However, they announced a farewell performance that ended up taking place November 9, 2016, at the Merrow in Hillcrest, on a bill that included the March Divide.

The farewell proved premature, as the band resurfaced in 2017 with the Ugly American EP. 2018 found Garcia backed by a new lineup featuring Greg Irwin (Flowerthief, Bandalier, Semisweet), Sean Cox (Flowerthief, Bandalier, Sinclairs, Lucy Ring), Jay Lauterwasser (Bandalier, Semisweet, Moontucky Risin), and Marco Garza.



  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!