Album cover

Tonight, Not Again: Jason Mraz Live at the Eagles Ballroom

The live collection comes in a two-disc CD/DVD set that was recorded last October at Milwaukee's Eagles Ballroom. Mraz is joined onstage by Blues Traveler's John Popper, who makes an appearance on "Curbside Prophet." "You see, it started way back in NYC when I stole my first rhyme from the M-I-C / At a West End Avenue at 63 / It's the beginning of a leap year February '96 / Win a guitar picked it up in the mix / I committed to the licks like a nickel bag of tricks / Well, look at me now."

Strategically placed thunderous applause only exacerbates the CD's conspicuous purpose -- that of an ego booster. I found the most interesting aspect of the album to be the disclaimer on the back that reads, "We don't have to cut forests to make paper anymore. That's why Jason printed this CD/DVD booklet with soy inks on Deja Vu matte coated paper made from 10 percent tree-free fibers hemp-flax [sic], 40 percent postconsumer waste, 20 percent preconsumer waste, and 30 percent certified, sustainably harvested wood."

In addition to the full-length concert, the DVD includes bonus footage.

--- Hometown CD Review 12-23-04

1. Tonight, Not Again
2. Not So Usual
3. Dialogue
4. No Doubling Back
5. You and I Both
6. Absolutely Zero
7. 1000 Things
8. Common Pleasure
9. Curbside Prophet
10. Sleeping to Dream
11. Unfold
12. No Stopping Us [Live]
13. The Remedy (I Won't Worry)
14. After an Afternoon
15. Too Much Food
16. The Right Kind
17. Sleep All Day [Acoustic]
18. Dream Life of Rand McNally
19. 0% Interest
20. On Love in Sadness
21. The Boys Gone
22. Who Needs Shelter
23. Rocket Man (I Think It's Going to Be a Long Long Time) [Live]
24. Tonight, Not Again [DVD]
25. Not So Usual [DVD]
26. No Doubling Back [DVD]
27. You and I Both [DVD]
28. Absolutely Zero [DVD]
29. 1000 Things [DVD]
30. Common Pleasure [DVD]
31. Curbside Prophet [DVD]
32. Sleeping to Dream [DVD]
33. Unfold [DVD]
34. The Right Kind [DVD]
35. No Stopping Us [DVD][Live]
36. The Remedy (I Won't Worry) [DVD]
37. After an Afternoon [DVD]
38. Too Much Food [DVD]


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader