Album cover

Double Happiness

1) Ooh Long Intro
2) Gritty Pretty
3) Kiss My Komodo
4) Formula 0
5) Planning for the 21st Century
6) Double Happiness
7) Bon Voyeurage
8) Purple Waves of Grain
9) Snap Tight
10) I Am Nature
11) Spectre
12) Mega Watt
13) Royale Finale

The Truckee Brothers retain their brilliant flair for grimy, almost Zappa-esque, and obscene lyrics.

From their previous album, It Came from the Speakers, on the song "Poly Esther": "Super sexy in your bunny ears/ don't touch tears/ you forget yourself, captain kangaroo." And from their latest recording, Double Happiness, on the song "Kiss My Komodo": "You can/ kiss my komodo/ on the underside."

The band has also kept their screaming, kicking, dual-guitar riffs that jump in your face like a buzzsaw. This album divides itself between flying off the handle with fast-paced rock tracks ("Kiss My Komodo," "Gritty Pretty") and mellowing out with moody downtempo songs ("Bon Voyeurage") that feature thrumming acoustic guitars and a tinkling piano. Cady and Peat harmonize perfectly and sweetly on both types of songs, a nice alternative to local scream bands and wimpy acoustic whiners.

What's different about this album from their past work is the group has relaxed into the role of a preeminent San Diego rock band and seems confident and ready for fame.

Hometown CD Review 8-16-07


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!