• Game Day alerts

Which team changing divisions will have the biggest impact this season?

Counting Madison, who forfeited their 2010 title, Division IV has produced three different champions in the past three seasons – and a newcomer to the division should make an immediate splash in 2011. Of the eight teams changing divisions this season, Mount Miguel moving to Division IV (from Division III) is the most significant change.

Mount Miguel has won eight games in three of the past four seasons and spent part of last season in the Top 10, but hasn’t been able to get over hump in the playoffs in Division III. This season the Matadors return a trio of star seniors – leading rusher Derrick Dunn, quarterback Ernest Williams, and defensive lineman Cory Littleton – and should contend in a wide open Division IV. Not having to deal with Point Loma or Cathedral Catholic in the postseason should help, too.

2011 Division Changes New division in parentheses

San Ysidro (I), Torrey Pines (II), San Marcos (II), Mt. Carmel (III), Olympian (III), Castle Park (IV), Mount Miguel (IV), Santa Fe Christian (V)

Pictured: Mount Miguel quarterback Ernest Williams calls out a play in the offensive huddle

  • Game Day alerts

More like this:


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!