The National Incident Management System (NIMS) is a required federal emergency management standard that provides a consistent nationwide template to enable all government, private-sector, and nongovernmental organizations to work together during domestic incidents.

Local and state agencies that do not use NIMS standards during emergency incident responses are ineligible for federal reimbursement of disaster-related expenses.

US citizens may get certification in the FEMA Emergency Management Institute course IS-700 Introduction to National Incident Management System (NIMS) at no cost. Certification can be considered a first step in participating as a stakeholder in local emergency planning commission decisions affecting how and where local emergency management funds are spent.

To take the IS-700 course for free, available directly from FEMA's Emergency Management Institute: IS-700


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!