• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

Ever since he lo-fi'd his way onto the radio in the early ’90s, Beck has been a musical marvel, a savant, a weirdo. But times change. People change. Some people, musicians especially, don't age well. Beck, however, seems to be aging with grace and sensibility, with lush strings and banjo licks. He's outgrown the self-proclaimed “loser.”

With Morning Phase, Beck has done for the sun what Pink Floyd did for the moon. “Morning” sets the tone early as he gently laments, “Won't you show me the way it used to be?” “Say Goodbye” is strangely reminiscent of a late ’90s alternative hit. (Remember that Everlast song?) “Country Down” is a classic country song. Pedal steel and harmonica set the scene as “The hills roll out like centuries, pass by without a sound. Just a mile outside of town.”

Morning Phase is aptly titled. Each song is a gentle journey. No tempo is rushed. No theme is forced. It all fits comfortably together. As producer, Beck has seamlessly intertwined folky acoustic instrumentation with his signature electronic vibe. He's clearly comfortable in his aging skin. If morning has a sound, a feel, Beck has captured it beautifully.

  • Album: Morning Phase
  • Artist: Beck
  • Label: Captiol
  • Songs: 1. “Cycle” 2. “Morning” 3. “Heart Is a Drum” 4. “Say Goodbye” 5. “Blue Moon” 6. “Unforgiven” 7. “Wave” 8. “Don't Let It Go” 9. “Blackbird Chain” 10. “Phase” 11. “Turn Away” 12. “Country Down” 13. “Waking Light”
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!