• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Beach Boys. To commemorate this milestone, the group is touring with all five surviving members (Mike Love, Bruce Johnston, Brian Wilson, Al Jardine, and David Marks). They have also released an album, That's Why God Made the Radio, their first to feature all original material in 20 years.

The 12 songs here explore the band's favored themes — California, summertime fun, and the ocean. But there is a twist. This album is a document of a group nearing the end of a long road. We hear about memories of fun times ("Isn't It Time"), a longing to have it all back again ("Beaches in Mind"), and the ultimate acceptance of life as a finite journey ("Summer's Gone”).

The success of this album is due to the contributions of chief songwriter and architect of the Beach Boys' sound, Brian Wilson. Members of Brian's touring band and various family members and friends help out with the rich stacks of harmonies and lush instrumentation.

This album, in many ways, feels like a swansong for the Beach Boys. If that turns out to be true, it is a fitting end to an extraordinary career.

  • Album: That's Why God Made the Radio
  • Artist: The Beach Boys
  • Label: Capitol
  • Songs: (1) Think About the Days (2) That's Why God Made the Radio (3) Isn't It Time (4) Spring Vacation (5) The Private Life of Bill and Sue (6) Shelter (7) Daybreak Over the Ocean (8) Beaches in Mind (9) Strange World (10) From There to Back Again (11) Pacific Coast Highway (12) Summer's Gone
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!