• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

With their Kiss-like makeup and occult lyrics, Crimson Moon released their first recording 12 years ago, though they never performed live until 2006. Core members Scorpios (bass, vocals, lyrics) and Nocturnal Overlord (guitars, keyboards, drum programming) have split and are now battling over the band name.

On January 25, Overlord announced an impending CM album (sans Scorpios): "[This] material was recorded between 1997--2000 solely by Overlord on a portable four-track and with an old drum machine," reads a post on Overlord's MySpace page.

"Overlord was kicked out [of Crimson Moon] in September of 2006," according to Scorpios. "This [new CM album] is another one of Overlord's desperate attempts to cause confusion...just because Overlord played in Crimson Moon in the past and decided to steal the logo, name, artwork, and concepts that are beyond his limits of understanding, bought out a bunch of domain names and made a MySpace page, doesn't change the fact that he was and will forever remain kicked out of the band."

Scorpios has grouped with three other players for his own version of CM. A new album is in progress.

Overlord responds: "In actuality, Scorpios was released from Crimson Moon in 2006 and has gone around making a fuss and started childish Internet drama ever since. He has even gone as far as to steal artwork, image files, HTML coding, avatars, sound files...[it's] simply pathetic, and there is no need to explain why he was kicked out."

Dueling MySpace pages are titled "crimsonmoon666" (Nocturnal Overlord) and "crimsonmoonofficial" (Scorpios).

  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!