The Suicide Chords

Jai Luna: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Jay Two: Vocals | Dylan Will: Bass guitar, Vocals

Genre: Rock

Sound description: Metal meets Motown.

RIYL: The Deftones, Oceansize, Thrice, Poison the Well, Dredg, Marvin Gaye, a Perfect Circle, Tool, Faith No More, Glassjaw, Circa Survive, Cave In, Radiohead, Refused, Team Sleep, Killswitch Engage, Beloved, Otis Redding, Sam Cooke

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history

Song Downloads


Inception: San Diego, 2008

Ex-Band Members: Joe Casey, Drums Hunter Levy, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Clay Hackett, Drums

Influences: Killswitch Engage, Otis Redding, Driving, Chaos, Excess, Testing Life's Limits


Based in Ocean Beach, members of the Suicide Chords grew up in different cities, bringing to the band a wide range of influences from soul, classic rock, metal, hip-hop, and jazz. The band includes two former members of Born Tonight, Jay Edwards (vocals) and Jai Luna (guitar), alongside Clay Hackett
(drums) and Dylan Wills (bass), both from Take Over Turn.

In 2011, they released their Wilshire EP, followed by the 11:11 (the Prelude) EP, produced by Dan Whittemore (Swagger Studios) and recorded at MidCity Sound in North Hollywood. In early 2012, an online video was released for “Be Careful What You Wish For,” filmed and edited by L.A. videographer Ben Edwards.

In 2014, former drummer Clay Hackett (also of the band Mursic) announced his plans to launch a new venture. As he described it, “The Catalyst is an online magazine that covers [San Diego] rock and metal, all the way to the county limits so nobody gets left out.”


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!