Andy Holmes: Guitar (electric) | Jeff Kelley: Drums

Genre: Blues & Soul, Funk, Jazz

Sound description: Jammin' soulful funk and jazz.

RIYL: The Meters, Jimmy McGriff, Medeski Martin & Wood, the John Scofield, Stanley Turrentine

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2002

Ex-Band Members: Christian Schinelli, Bass guitar Ben Moore, Organ James Cummings, Keyboards, Organ, Piano

Influences: The Meters, Prince, the Brand New Heavies, the Roots, the Jazz Crusaders, Ray Charles


For many years, the Price of Dope enjoyed a great deal of success in San Diego. Songs from the band's debut CD were used for Rob Machado's (MTV) surf videos and frequently featured on local TV and radio (Bluetorch, KUSI, KSDS).

In 1999, San Diego's original acid-jazz group the Price of Dope dissolved when Cheme Gastelum and Dave Carano joined Robert Walter's 20th Congress. Soon after, Jeff Kelley, Andy Holmes, Christian Schinelli, and Ben Moore came together to form Pocket.

Their debut EP The Tone Conservancy consists of fiery grooves inspired by a blend of soul jazz rhythms and contemporary harmonies. The band was nominated Best Jazz Band at the San Diego Music Awards in 2005 and 2006. They've also done commercial songs for Nike and an intro song for Weeds.

In late 2008, organist Ben Moore left the band and was replaced by another Price of Dope vet, James Cummings. Their full-length album debut was issued on vinyl, featuring guest player Karl Denson, Lenny Kravitz's sax player and founding member of the Greyboy Allstars.

In early 2012, the band lost Christian Schinelli (bass) and James Cummings (organ).


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader