Bob Yerian: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Bruce Morse: Drums | Malcolm McCassy: Bass guitar, Vocals | David Doran: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals

Genre: Rock

RIYL: Five Pound Grin, Brain Police, Gravedigger V, the Misfits, Glory, the Deep Six, the Nomads, Orfuns, Framework, the Crawdaddys, the Other Four, the Survivors

No shows scheduled | Post a show |


Influences: The Byrds, Cream, Jefferson Airplane, Strawberry Alarm Clock, Steppenwolf, Buffalo Springfield, Five Pound Grin


Five Pound Grin (previously known as the Survivors) was a 1960s garage rock band known for playing teenage dances and schools before graduating to local rock clubs. Members included David Doran (vocals, guitar), Malcolm McCassy (vocals, bass), Mike Lawson (vocals, guitar), and Willie Kellogg (drums).

They released two singles, including "Never Hurt Again" (written by Doran and McCassy) which resurfaced on the latterday compilation The Incredible Expanding Universe of Brain Shadows Volumes One & Two.

The group later evolved into Pale Fire, which released two singles in 1968 on the Lyrics' label Feather Records. Pale Fire re-recorded and re-released "Never Hurt Again" b/w "Eye Girl" (written by bassist Malcolm McCassy and guitarist David Doran), featuring a lineup with McCassy and Doran now backed by Bob Yerian (guitar), and Bruce Morse (drums).


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment