The Material

Colleen D'Agostino: Keyboards, Vocals | Roi Elam: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Kevin Pintado: Drums, Percussion | Jon Moreaux: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Jordan Meckley: Bass guitar

Genre: Rock

RIYL: Paramore, Halifax, Taking Back Sunday, Yellowcard, Thursday, Flyleaf, Evanescence, Hey Monday, VersaEmerge, Jimmy Eat World, Foo Fighters, Circa Survive, Death Cab for Cutie

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2006

Ex-Band Members: Dustin Sherron, Bass guitar Brian Miller, Bass guitar Matt Holden, Bass guitar Kevin Falk, Bass guitar Noah Vowles, Drums

Influences: Jimmy Eat World, Flyleaf, Foo Fighters, Circa Survive, Death Cab for Cutie, 30 Seconds to Mars, Anbeliln, Breaking Benjamin


The Material came together after frontwoman Colleen D’Agostino moved to the area to pursue a music degree at SDSU. Their original North Park–based lineup featured her and fellow SDSU student (and future husband) Jon Moreaux (guitar), with guitarist Roi Elam joining in time to play on their six-song debut EP Tomorrow. Drummer Kevin Pintado (who won the San Diego division of the 2007 Guitar Center Drum-Off) came aboard in 2010, while Jordan Meckley (their fifth bassist) joined in 2012.

“We're still building our name,” says guitarist Jon Moreaux. Often compared to emo groups like Paramore because, female lead singer Colleen D'Agostino also paints artwork that fans frequently commission from her.

After D'Agostino moved to San Diego, she began playing with Moreaux and Noah Vowles (drums). The threesome added bassist Kevin Falk (Every Time I Die, Between the Buried and Me) and recorded their first demo.

In 2006, bassist Falk was replaced by Brian Miller, and guitarist Roi Elam joined shortly after. With this lineup, the Material went into the studio to record their 6-song debut EP Tomorrow, co-produced by Brian Grider and released on September 1, 2007.

“In 2007, we won a trip to the TRL Studios in New York to play on MTV for the Dew Circuit Breakout,” recalls D’Agostino of their initial lucky break. “Our first CD had just come out, and we were such a new gave me the motivation and confidence to start really pursuing music as a career.”

It was late 2007, and clips of the Material were airing regularly on MTV2 to promote the contest; the band appeared on the cable channel as one of three finalists. Moreaux says a panel of judges selected the top 12 finalists from 4000 entries. An MTV2 website popularity poll narrowed the list to six; then the Material was named as one of the top three (along with the Myriad from Seattle and the Terribles from Santa Barbara).

Bassist Brian Miller left in 2008 and was replaced by Matt Holden, who gave up the position in 2009 to Dustin Sherron, who vacated in favor of Jordan Meckley (their fifth bassist) in 2012. Founding drummer Noah Vowles was replaced in 2010 by Kevin Pintado.

Their song “Moving to Seattle” from their first EP is featured on the video game Rock Band, they have had songs appear in MTV's The Hills, and the WB's Sorority Forever. In March 2010, the Material released a new single titled “What Happens Next,” which became the opening theme song to the Australian Reality TV show Freshwater Blue.

Their 2010 debut album What We Are was recorded in Portland and L.A. They played several 2010 Warped Tour dates, and Taylor Guitars chose them as one of ten bands to perform for a Taylor/Hello Music Artist to Watch showcase at the March 2011 SXSW music fest in Austin.

Their April 2013 full-length Everything I Want to Say was produced by Kyle Black (Paramore, Pierce the Veil, All Time Low). It was previewed with a single for “Life Vest.”

“New sounds aside,” says D’Agostino, “the album still echoes back to what we have always been about as a band: sharing the sometimes harsh realities with our listeners, but always with a silver lining.”


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment