Vanja: Guitar (electric), Vocals

Genre: Rock

RIYL: The Rosalyns, Flaggs, No Doubt, Pat Benetar, Patti Smith, Pat Benetar, Heart, Suzi Quatro, Paramore, Leonard Cohen, Cole Porter, Jets to Brazil, Aretha Franklin, Nirvana, Mudhoney, Elliot Smith, Royal Blood, the Loons, The Schizophonics, Florence and the Machine, Against Me!, Queens of the Stoneage, Jack White

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2013

Ex-Band Members: Kyle Areford, Bass guitar Ryan Schilawski, Drums Dylan Cooper, Drums, Percussion

Influences: QOTSA, Jack White, Florence and The Machine, Aretha Franklin, Against Me!, Jawbreaker, Foo Fighters


Little Dove began as a collection of rock songs written by Vanja on guitar and vocals. Upon relocation to L.A., she formed the band with percussionist Dylan Cooper and recorded a live album five days after playing their first show on April 7, 2013 at the Viper Room. They performed in L.A. and toured as a duo for three years, and Vanja continued to expand Little Dove after relocating to San Diego in summer 2015.

Approached as a long term collaboration and collective, Little Dove has played and performed with San Diego musicians such as David Beldock, Trips Jurado, Kyle Areford, and Ryan Lee Schilawski. The band's single "Misery" was heard on season six, episode nine of the Showtime TV series Shameless.

Little Dove completed a live album in February 2018, with Vanja recording 13 songs in two days with Grammy winner JJ Blair, drummer Matt Tecu, and bassist David Filice. The album featured co-producing and mixing by Mark Rains (Black Rebel Motorcycle Club) and Brian Rosemeyer (Bronx).

The band embarked on its first tour abroad in Ireland and the UK in spring 2019, playing with London based rhythm section Carl Dawkins (bass) and Mark Vincent (drums), making Little Dove a multi-continental collective.

A new EP was announced for June 2019, with a full album expected later that year. The collective aspect has continued to progress, with album contributors such as Fernando Perdomo, Fuzzbee Morse, Jordan Summers, Bryan Myers, Brad Watson, Anton Patzner, and Ralph Carney. That year, their first tour abroad in Ireland and the UK included London based rhythm section Carl Dawkins (bass) and Mark Vincent (drums).



  • Pin it


Sign in to comment