Zach Oakley: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Justin Hulson: Bass guitar | Thomas Dibenedetto: Drums

Genre: Rock

Sound description: The psychedelic sounds of sonic surrender.

RIYL: Radio Moscow, Earthless, Marillion, Pink Floyd, Hawkwind, Ilya, Steve Hillage, Wild Wild Wets, Get Back Loretta, Ocelot, Loom, Pharlee, Petyr, Monarch, Sacri Monti

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Ex-Band Members: Paul Morrone, Drums

Influences: Pink Floyd, Hawkwind, Blue Cheer, Jo Jo Zep & the Falcons, Loom, Earthless


Psychedelic space rockers Joy features Zach Oakley (guitar), originally accompanied by Paul Morrone (drums) and Justin Hulson (bass). They released their full-length Under the Spell of Joy (Tee Pee Records) in summer 2014.

After replacing drummer Morrone with Thomas DiBenedetto (Sacri Monti), a followup, Ride Along!, debuted in April 2016. The album featured guest drumming by Mario Rubalcalba.

In 2017, Zach Oakley cofounded Volcano with Gabe Messer (Harsh Toke), Billy Ellsworth (Loom, Radio Moscow), Matt Oakley, and Ake Arndt of the visual arts collective Operation Mindblow. A debut single dropped in early 2018, “10,000 Screaming Souls.”


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader