The Reo Collective

Josh Vasquez: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Marc Encabo: Bass guitar | Tyler Kreutel: Drums | Chaz Cabrera: Saxophone

Genre: Blues & Soul, Funk, Jazz, Latin | Tejano, Rock

Sound description: Drawing from the roots and nuances of jazz music and infusing a diverse set of sounds from funk, rock, soul, and Latin music, the band has together developed a seasoned sound with infectious grooves and catchy melodies.

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2009

Ex-Band Members: John Avery, Saxophone Hiram Garza, Keyboards, Piano


Formerly known as Jazz Avenue, the Reo Collective was founded by teen musicians from the School of Creative and Performing Arts (SDSCPA) in San Diego, where they began their studies in music and stumbled upon the school’s award-winning jazz program, under the direction and mentoring of Tamara Paige, head of the Music Department.

They have performed at the House of Blues San Diego and Dizzy’s, as well as with the San Diego Repertory Theatre and CYC Theatre and at events like the annual Ocean Beach Music and Arts Festival. Sax player Chaz Cabrera graduated in 2011 but remains with the band.

In early 2012, they won Best Teen Band in the USA in the third annual SchoolJam USA Competition, earning $5000 for their school music education program, and $1000 toward the purchase of new equipment, and a professional music video recording session on the John Lennon Educational Tour Bus.

Following their win, the band traveled to Frankfurt, Germany to headline the Original SchoolJam Competition and perform at at MusikMesse 2012. Describing how the band felt about sweeping the competition, saxophonist John Avery responded, “It’s beastly. All the bands were so good. It’s just ridiculously amazing that we won.”

The band’s music teacher Tamara Paige was on hand to share in their win, commenting that the $5,000 prize will go a long way in the strengthening their music education program. Later in 2012, the band released their full-length Bridging the Gap.

In 2015, the group was involved in the production of a documentary known as Bass Clef Bliss. The group's personnel shifted after a recording session, and four of the remaining members - Marc Encabo, Josh Vasquez, Tyler Kreutel, and Chaz Cabrera - decided to change the band name from Jazz Avenue to the Reo Collective.



  • Pin it


Sign in to comment