Holiday & the Adventure Pop Collective

Derric Oliver: Fiddle, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Trumpet, Tuba | Louis Caverly: Fiddle, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Keyboards, Vocals | Michael Taylor Hahn: Drums

Genre: Blues & Soul, Jazz, Pop

Sound description: Genre-swingin alternative country, rock, pop, R&B, experimental jazz, jam, originals and covers.

RIYL: The Flaming Lips, Interpol, TV on the Radio, Bright Eyes, Arcade Fire

No shows scheduled | Post a show |


Inception: Encinitas, 2000

Current Status:

Influences: Sufjan Stevens, the Flaming Lips, Elliot Smith, the Decemberists, the Shins, Neutral Milk Hotel, Spoon, Arcade Fire, Belle and Sebastion, Iron and Wine, Broken Social Scene, Modest Mouse, Pavement, Yo La Tengo, the New Pornographers, Of Montreal, Beck, My Morning Jacket, Built to Spill, Radiohead, Wolf Parade, Bob Dylan, Nick Drake, Cat Power, Bright Eyes, Death Cab for Cutie, the Velvet Underground, Billy Bragg, Wilco, Interpol, TV on the Radio


"Holiday references both vacationing and the great Billie Holiday," says Derric Oliver, guitarist and horn player for Holiday & the Adventure Pop Collective. "When Louis [Caverly] and I began working on old and new songs and decided to 'get the band back together,' therein lies the collective. When put together, our name combines the specific with concepts, dreams, and great escape. Think Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory."

This duo present a lot of very strong material that fans of either the Jayhawks or early Train love, beginning with the lovely, melodic, and roots-flavored "Feel," which also harkens back to Golden Smog. A slight Latin feel on "40 Years" is odd but manages to flow easily thanks to the keen knack for songwriting of partners Derric Oliver and Louis Caverly. A horn is also thrown in with no harm done. The album takes off on the punchy "Am I Wrong?" which sounds like the Gin Blossoms listening to Tom Petty. It's also contains that good-time, toe-tapping feel of Dire Straits circa "The Bug."

--All Music Guide

Their album Become was released in April 2005. The band's independently released album Songs for Feeling Strong, came out in August 2007. Tracked in front of a live audience at Beach Boy Al Jardine’s Red Barn Studios in Big Sur, CA, the 13-song album includes “Airport Song”, “Believe,” and “One Day with Me,” plus a special cover of the Beach Boys’ hit, “Surfer Girl,” featuring vocal accompaniment by Al Jardine.


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment