Richard Dotson: Bass guitar | Mikey Carnevale: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Adam Lomnitzer: Drums

Genre: Punk, Rock, Surf

RIYL: FIDLAR, the Sess, the Otters, Black Hootie

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2012

Influences: Bad Religion, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Black Flag


Surf-punkers the Frights were still teens when founded by Richard Dotson (the Cricks), Mikey Carnevale, and Adam Lomnitzer (both from Monomood and Black Hootie).

“We did go to the same high school as blink-182,” says Rancho Bernardo High alum Carnevale about himself and Lomnitze (bassist Richard Dotson went to Westview in Rancho Peñasquitos). “And every band who came out of our school wanted to sound like blink. But it wasn’t my style.”

The Frights recording career was made possible by Soma manager Joe Nammo, who released their debut on his Postmark label. “We had just played this really good Soma show opening for Voodoo Glow Skulls. Joe came backstage and told us he really liked us and he wanted us to be on this new label he was starting. We had literally just played our first show and we had, like, five, maybe six songs. We weren’t even planning on taking this seriously then. We asked ourselves, do we sign with this stranger we just met at Soma?”

They changed their name to the Frights and released their Dead Beach EP. They released a split 7-inch single in November 2011 with Mrs. Magician, "Prescription Vision" b/w "I Know What Girls Like", with 500 copies on the Grizzly Records label, followed in May 2013 by their Fur Sure EP and then a self-titled full-length album.

Dotson and Carnevale formed the Otters, and were later joined by Lomnitzer to play as Black Hootie at Soma in December 2012.

In 2015, the Frights signed with Dangerbird Records, which released their album You Are Going to Hate This early the following year. They played Berkeley, CA's Uncool Fest in February 2016.

December 2016 saw the release of a new single and video for “Christmas Everyday.”



  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!