Deborah Blake & Zero Gravity

Deborah Blake: Percussion, Vocals | Art McAvoy: Drums | Jeff Stedman : Bass guitar | Reuben Vigil: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Lenny Locken: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Mike McGinty: Keyboards

Genre: Blues & Soul, Country, Rock

Sound description: American roots music that is raw, unapologetic, far from pretentious, and simply aims at having a good time.

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: Lakeside, 1998

Ex-Band Members: Jerry Cox, Bass guitar Mike Saulnier, Keyboards Steve Burns, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Kurt Kujawa, Guitar (electric) Jeff Williams, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Mark Hanley, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Dean Smith, Percussion Wayne Markus, Harmonica, Vocals Terry Padgett, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Paul Vouaux, Drums Jay Berman, Keyboards Miff Laracy, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Scottie "Mad Dog" Blinn, Bass guitar, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Eddie J. Henderson, Keyboards Mike Keene, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Steve Nichols, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Mark McInerney, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) Jon Fay, Drums

Influences: Bonnie Raitt, Angela Strehli, Eva Cassidy, Eric Clapton, Van Morrison, Ray Charles, Etta James


Deborah Blake formed Zero Gravity as a rock cover band in 1998. Over the years, she has evolved into a soulful blues-influenced performer of roadhouse rock, blues and alternative country. The musician lineup varies according to project, member availability, and venue.

The band has included drummer Art McAvoy, bassist Jeff Stedman (Cactus 5), guitarist Reuben Vigil (Big Reub and the Reloaders), guitarist Lenny Locken (Straight Six), and Eddie J. Henderson on keys. Alternate players include Mike Keene (guitar), Steve Nichols (guitar), Mark McInerney (guitar), Jon Fay (drums), and Jerry Cox (bass).

  • Pin it


Deborah Blake March 6, 2013 @ 10:13 a.m.

Current ZG lineup: Art McAvoy-drums, Jeff Stedman-bass, Reuben Vigil-guitar, Lenny Locken-guitar, and Eddie J Henderson-keys


Deborah Blake May 26, 2013 @ 11:26 a.m.

DBZG lineup for June 22nd @ Myerz PourHouse; Art McAvoy, Jeff Stedman, Lenny Locken, Reuben Vigil, and Mike McGinty.


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader