Ryan Solomon: undetermined | EJ Binns: undetermined | Garrett Ervin: undetermined | Justin Smith: Bass guitar | Trung Ngo: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Garrett Irving: Piano | Mike Murdock: Drums

Genre: Acoustic, Alternative, Pop

Sound description: Experimental pop rock.

RIYL: Broken Social Scene

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history

Audio clips

Da Bears: "Regal Beagle"


Inception: San Diego, 2004

Ex-Band Members: Kemp Zablotsky, undetermined Jake White, undetermined Mike Giuliana, undetermined Chelsea Hernandez, undetermined Brandon Moore, undetermined

Influences: Broken Social Scene, Flaming Lips, Pavement, Floors and Ceilings


Founded by guitarist-vocalist Ryan Solomon and guitarist E.J. Binns, Da Bears was an ever-evolving line-up of musicians forging elements of rock, pop, surf, funk, and experimentation. Youthful energy and extravagant instrumentation defined their musical style.

In December 2006, their song “Cage of Ribs” was featured on the MP3 blog Said the Gramaphone. In late 2007, the Onion AV Club singled them out for having one of the worst band names of the year.

Da Bears’ recordings were self-produced by Ryan Solomon. Signed to Grizzly Records, the band recorded an EP and a split 7” with art-punkers the Apes of Wrath in 2010.

Da Bears dismantled in June 2010, after six years in various incarnations. While still home-recording under glitchy mash-up alias Nature’s Kid, Solomon released a new set of lo-fi “neo-chill-psych-goth-wave” tracks as Dudes. D/Wolves’ Joel Williams (microKorg) and fellow ex-Bears EJ Binns (guitar/bass) and Mike Murdock (drums) complete the live Dudes lineup.

Guitarist/keyboardist Trung Ngo co-founded a new band called TV Girl.


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment