3 Guys Called Jesus

Matthew Rothenberg: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Robert Labbe: Drums | Ryk Groetchen: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric) | Steve Duke: Bass guitar, Vocals

Genre: Rock

RIYL: Noise 292, Tell-Tale Hearts

No shows scheduled | Post a show |


Inception: San Diego, 1985

Influences: Tell-Tale Hearts, the Crawdaddys, the Zeroes


3 Guys Called Jesus were actually four guys, none of them named Jesus; singer/guitarist Matthew Rothenberg (Noise 292), guitarist Ryk Groetchen, bassist Steve Duke, and drummer Robert Labbe.

Groetchen was first to quit the punkish band, before they split for good in early 1987. Rothenberg and Labbe later played in the San Francisco band the Ho Hos.

Bassist Steve Duke passed away in October 2019.

  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader