Trazos de Ser

1) La Ola
2) La Flor
3) Sepárate
4) Alma
5) En Brazos
6) Lo Que Aquí Ya Está
7) Sed
8) El Espacio Acá
9) In Desire
10) Beautiful
11) No Hay Final
12) The Space in Which We Live

This is soft and sweet music. It's Mexican pop/rock. The lyrics are Spanish, and from what I can pick out, it seems like average love/love-lost music. Of the words I can pick out, corazón, mujer, and muerto are prominent. The English lyrics on "In Desire" tell us that Alfonso's in need of companionship: "set my heart on fire/ and I'm trembling with desire."

The tempo is slow and never gets out of soft-rock gear. Alfonso's voice is sensitive and longing. The heavy use of an electric guitar doesn't temper the delicate nature of the album but makes it more like a collection of '80s Whitesnake power ballads in Spanish. Alfonso's strongest song is "El Espacio Acá," which forgoes the faux edgy guitar and gives itself wholly to the acoustic guitar, piano, and soft drumming.

The music is expertly played, though. Everyone is perfectly timed, pitched, and on key. It's professional enough to get major Spanish-station airplay or to be featured on a telenovela.

Alfonso's your guy if you dig soft pop and speak Spanish.

--- Hometown CD Review 4-12-07


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!