Too Far Gone

1) Too Far Gone
2) Spinning Head
3) Private Caller
4) Grace
5) Intimate Controversy
6) Innocent Will Pay
7) What a Day
8) Miss Minogue
9) You Got the Call
10) Seen That Movie
11) Golden Trades
12) Dreamer on the Run

Imagine a lo-fi version of Shirley Manson's searing dirges cut with PJ Harvey's ire. Yovee's raw, sexy vulnerability makes their songs compelling. Each of the 12 songs features gritty poetry backed by fuzz guitar and occasional keyboards. Though, the album is somewhat mellower than the quintet's 2004 EP; the guitars aren't as dominant, the lyricism isn't as stinging, and the mood is quieter. Much of the disc remains an accomplishment because it is straight-forward, unpretentious alternative rock. Lead vocalist Nell Blevins sings in "Spinning Head," "I write these words as they're thrown from my spinning head, 'cause I'm so sick of falling down while my soul marches straight ahead." Nell Blevins and Brandon Parkhurst harmonize beautifully in their dejected sing-song voices on almost every track. This pairing of despondence and harmony might sound garish, but the melodic immediacy it creates is alluring. Stronger cuts, such as "Innocent Will Pay" and "You Got the Call," showcase the band's hard rock and grunge capabilities, while the remaining tracks flaunt Yovee's softer side. The album is a perfect mix of fuzzy, distorted guitars, and melody. Although the instrumentation is minimal at times, this is a polished production.

The final cut, "Dreamer on the Run," is the best. The voices of Blevins and Parkhurst melt into one with the lines "Get by, take it as it comes, that's the common misconception of a dreamer on the run." Dissonant and melodic, the duet encompasses Yovee's edgy approach to modern rock.

--- Hometown CD Review 9-29-05


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!