Album cover

Promised Land

Sample tracks:

1) Promised Land
2) No Escape
3) Russian Roulette
4) Halfway Home
5) Excuses
6) King Greed
7) Going Nowhere
8) Through My Eyes
9) Armageddon
10) Waiting in Line
11) Same Ol' Bullshit

The album contains 11 songs that were recorded at Capricorn Studio in San Diego and mastered at Lurssen Mastering in Los Angeles. The first single off the album "Halfway Home" has been featured on: a 2007 off road vehicle DVD called Dezert People Cinco; the free compilation CD in the August 2007 issue of No Cover Magazine, and the Rockers for Life compilation CD put out by Illumina Records.

Every new punk band spawns its own subgenre or sub-subgenre. There's Southern California Whine Punk, popularized by the vocal stylings of Tom DeLonge from blink-182. There's Happy Poppy Whine Punk, Uplifting Punk, Emo-Crossed Punk, the Ol' Middle Finger I Gotcher Punk Right Here Punk, and a thousand others. They all sound slightly different, but the difference exists. Pissed-off rocking fills many a varied bottle.

Critical Me is different because it falls neatly into the category spawned by almost-famous Pennywise -- the subgenre being, "Not Whiny, but Disgusted with Most Every Aspect of American Life Punk." They've got the rhythm speed and indignation of Pennywise, as well as the lead vocals -- rougher, ragged, and manlier than most SoCal Whine Punk sissy bands. Thank God. Another Whine Punk CD crosses my desk, and I'm going to eat my computer speakers.

All in all, Critical Me is a talented band that plays tight and coordinated punk. Peter pops the skins with skill, and Muheim's bass keeps the driving pace required by quick music. A good night of High Skill San Diego Punk would be a team-up of Fifty on Their Heels with Critical Me at a clean dive like the Kensington Club.

Hometown CD Review 12-20-07


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!