• Big Screen alerts

Life happens but cinema doesn't in this fluffy chick flick destined to give the "genre" a worse reputation than it already has.

Kim (Krysten Ritter) and Deena (Kate Bosworth) are a pair standard operating party girls sharing an apartment with an umbday (and severely perky) virgin, Laura (Rachel Bilson). Laura is shocked to learn that the ad she answered for a "naked human sushi platter" calls for nudity. Wasn't Bilson equally distressed to learn that the character she signed on to play was no deeper than a wading pool?

An unprotected one night stand leaves Kim with child. One year later Kim discovers that her adorable offspring is Kryptonite to single guys. Her sperm-donor-boyfriend-cum-negligent-father, a rock musician whose career is "blowing up" (at least in his mind), thinks both mother and child would be better off without him.

Wanting desperately to snare a handsome pedophobic divorcee (Geoff Stults), horny Kim pretends that Deena is the mother of her child.

This is beginning to sound like a spin-off of Three's Company. Instead of one Ritter playing gay in order to share a flat with two hot chicks, we have another denying the existence of her child to get into some stud's pants.

Ritter, a former model turned small screen star (Breaking Bad, Don't Trust the Bitch in Apartment 23) co-wrote the screenplay with first time director Kat Coiro. She is enormously appealing as the baby momma and Ritter and Bosworth have the makings of a wonderful comedy duo.

Blame the script. Their “opposites attract” chemistry is not enough to make restitution for the film’s forced dialog and sitcom plotting. L!fe Happens is another empty comedy in which everyone appears to be having fun except those watching it.

Click for showtimes.

Reader Rating: One Star

  • Big Screen alerts

Comments

nan shartel April 16, 2012 @ 11:16 a.m.

applause 4 Mindy

i was just thinking about that this morning watching a singer on Rachel Ray who had no voice but was apparently popular...movies used to anchor their nubies to older established stars...that way they learned to be better actors as they watched the oldsters work...and they felt humble about their own learning curve

eye candy is dandy but only entertains the young hormonal beast 4 so long...and superheroes and fast action movies are overworked

(how many car chases can u stand and how can u top them time after time with impunity)

only the Brits still lovingly film stand on their own no props well written real stories

i could say more but i won't bore the semantically challenge among u

None

0

Scott Marks April 16, 2012 @ 6:54 p.m.

My tolerance for bad movie comedies is set on high. It has to be considering how many I subject myself to. If given the choice, I would rather sit through a bad comedy than just about any other genre. Sadly, the stuff that passes off for comedy today makes old satirically contemptuous bombs by Whoopi (Jumpin' Jack Flash), Bobcat (Hot to Trot), and Burt (Paternity) look like Preston Sturges.

You're gonna' kill me, Nan. Truffaut once said, "British cinema is an oxymoron." With the exception of Hitchcock (who made the lion's share of his masterworks for American studios), Powell & Pressburger, John Boorman, Terrence Davies, and a few isolated cases, I agree with Francois. There is no such thing as a bad genre, but British costumers come close. I tried watching a few minutes of "Downton Abbey" and couldn't wait to switch over to "Cheaters."

0

nan shartel April 17, 2012 @ 11:49 a.m.

smack...smack...smack...i never realized what an idiot Truffaut was!!

no wonder the Brits barely grind their teeth over them and call them FROGS!!!

and give me Maggie Smith (with the camera looking up her nose) over any of these (who the hell are they) STARS trying to marry lewd language and lasciviousness and entertaining comedy together any Sunday nite of the week

but i'm weird i guess...i love CANADA and all things Canadian 2...and have a high opinion of much of Canada's movie making

of course i'd walk over glass to see a François Truffaut, Jean-Luc Godard, Éric Rohmer, Claude Chabrol, Jacques Rivette or any other French maestro of the time

but i'd do that after i saw a good Brit film....hahahahahahahahaha

the new Jane Eyre 2011 made it a joy to see this different view of an old Charlotte Bronte classic much film in preceding years...i watched it twice

http://focusfeatures.com/jane_eyre/synopsis

the meticulous eye of the Brits made that possible...so there Frenchies!!!

0

nan shartel April 17, 2012 @ 12:04 p.m.

Downton Abby won a Golden Globe and it's quite interesting historically and the usual lovely expected of Brit filming Mindy

i bought the first 2 seasons as a birthday gift for my niece and she was thrilled

0

nan shartel April 17, 2012 @ 12:06 p.m.

all this blah blah blah doesn't mean i don't thoroughly like and appreciate ur opinions and ur silver screen blog Scott...keep up the good work Mister

0

Scott Marks April 18, 2012 @ 12:05 a.m.

I'm a "Cheaters" purist, Mindy. It jumped the shark after they replaced Tommy Grand with Joey. And I think the knife incident was staged. It's been years, but I remember a couple of insert shots that didn't make sense. And it's still on the air! http://www.cheaters.com/

Thanks, Nan. Maybe it's the lack of fluoridation that keeps me at arm's length.

0

Colonna April 18, 2012 @ 2:26 a.m.

I wish SCTV was still around to see their take on this show.

Can you imagine Eugene Levy as Tommy Grand busting vintage stars like Woody Allen (Rick Moranis) or Bob Hope (Dave Thomas)? Poor Johnny LaRue (John Candy) wouldn't know what hit him when he's up against a camera crew and Andrea Martin and Catherine O'Hara combined!

0

nan shartel April 18, 2012 @ 12:38 p.m.

i hate to admit this but i never saw Cheaters

(yikes cover my head with a pizza carton and runs 4 the hills!!!)

i bet it was the typically bad teeth on the Brit films that warded u off...even fluoridation wouldn't have helped them

i loved Second City

0

Scott Marks April 19, 2012 @ 6:06 p.m.

If you're gonna' watch TV, WATCH TV! "Cheaters" is as low as it gets. Spurned paramours allow them to tape their spouse's or lover's clandestine dalliances. The best part of the show is when Tommy Grand would have the jiltee in the back of a van and show her/him footage of the jilter in action. You have to hear Tommy's flat, monotone, soulless voice utter, "I'm sorry I have to show you this." Imagine a tall, swarthy Arab channeling a late-period Larry Fine's bored delivery. After this comes the inevitable confrontation with Tommy acting as arbiter. "Hey, break it up you two!" "You can't deny it, we have video, I'm warning you!" It was genius.

0

nan shartel April 20, 2012 @ 11:20 a.m.

sounds funny...got a review on the new show "The Girls" on HBO??

i'm now going admit to u something i'm not proud of and may have u never wanting to interact with me ever again

i want to see Chimpansee today (cringing)

None

0

nan shartel April 25, 2012 @ 9:56 a.m.

i saw it...da monkee movie....

now there's a movie!!!

0

Sign in to comment

Join our
newsletter list

Enter to win $25 at Broken Yolk Cafe

Each newsletter subscription
means another chance to win!

Close