• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

After years of delay and a label change, Big Boi's solo career is finally out of the gate. While Sir Lucious is a solo record, Speakerboxxx found Big Boi operating under the Outkast framework with hit and miss results. This time around, catchy, funk-infused anthems such as "Follow Us" and "Shutterbugg" emphatically announce Big Boi's arrival as a singular entity. The beats, courtesy of Organized Noize and Scott Storch among others, bang with electro rhythms and soul horns that perfectly suit Big Boi's razor-sharp, elastic flow.

Longtime Outkast fans will be disappointed to learn Andre 3000 was kept from lending guest vocals due to label politics, though he did produce a track. Those craving that classic chemistry should be pleased with the leaked song "Lookin 4 Ya," a smooth, Sleepy Brown-assisted jam cut from the album that shows the Atlanta duo hasn't lost a step.

Many of the guests who did make the cut, however, leave something to be desired. Aside from a couple filler tracks ("You Ain't No DJ" and "Be Still") and pedestrian lyricism, Big Boi has crafted one of the most enjoyable and hard-hitting mainstream rap records in years.

  • Album: Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty (2010)
  • Artist: Big Boi
  • Label: Def Jam
  • Songs: (1) Feel Me (2) Daddy Fat Sax (3) Turns Me On (4) Follow Us (5) Shutterbugg (6) General Patton (7) Tangerine (8) You Ain't No DJ (9) Hustle Blood (10) Be Still (11) Fo Yo Sorrows (12) Night Night (13) Shine Blockas (14) The Train Pt. 2 (15) Back Up Plan
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Join our
newsletter list

Enter to win $25 at Broken Yolk Cafe

Each newsletter subscription
means another chance to win!