The Phantoms

Victor Penalosa: Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Xavier Anaya: Guitar (electric) | Chris Iandolo: Bass guitar | Ed Masi: Drums

Genre: Rock

Upcoming Local Shows

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2011


The Phantoms includes former Melanies mainman Victor Penalosa (guitar, vocals), Xavier Anaya (lead guitar), Chris Iandolo (bass), and Ed Masi (drums).

Previous Penalosa projects have included the Burrito Brothers, Sidewalk Scene, Riot Act, Unruly Bangs, Baja Bugs, Got it Covered, and ADD/C, as well as stints with the Zeros and the Shambles. In 2013, he joined Bay Area–based favorites the Flamin’ Groovies, who first emerged during the late 1960s with a string of their mid-’70s tunes such as “Shake Some Action” and “Jumpin in the Night,” now considered garage-rock classics. Penalosa’s first tour with the Flamin’ Groovies, which began in April, included a music festival in Australia as well as sold-out shows in Japan and San Francisco. He was asked to join full time following the tour.

  • Pin it


Sign in to comment