Esteban Flores: Composer, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Vocals | Samuel Lopez: Drums, Guitar (acoustic), Guitar (electric), Percussion | Misty Sunglow: Bass guitar, Vocals

Genre: Rock

RIYL: Ghost Ship, Gnaw Their Tongues, Harry Pussy, Stars of the Lid, the Crash Recovery

Upcoming Local Shows

No shows scheduled | Post a show | View show history


Inception: San Diego, 2007

Influences: Swans, Scott Walker, Ghost Ship, Radiohead, Pavement, Brian Wilson


Monochromacy was originally known as Van Clitt when founded in 2007 by Esteban Flores. The lineup includes Flores, Sam Lopez (aka noise artist and Stay Strange promoter Zsa Zsa Gabor), and Misty Sunglow on bass and vocals.

Their 5-song Cement Cathedrals EP was released in summer 2013, mastered by James Plotkin and released on the local Stay Strange lable founded by Lopez. Limited to only 50 copies released on cassette, all tracks were mastered by James Plotkin (mastered for SUNN, Earth, Khanate) and manufactured by National Audio Company, with package design by dark artist Brandon Geurts.

Cement Cathedrals is a bleak landscape of ominous ambiance. A followup released in Autumn 2016, Live Isolated, features songs recorded all in one take.


  • Pin it


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!