Album cover

La Maldición EP

Building upon their previous incarnations with the addition of members from Mexicali noisewave/hardcore bands Lipstick Terror, Chrome Eye, and El Centro's thrashnasty SnailS!, Batwings released their long-awaited La Maldición EP via Bandcamp.

La Maldición is a 5-song snapshot of a band that has gone through a handful of lineup tweaks in the past year-and-a-half or so - first with the departure of foundational singer/keys/bassist Robbie Lopez followed by the addition of bassist Scott Stage and singer Carlos Quintero and then the parting of guitarist Bryan Oczkowski to take a job in Providence.

The transitional EP captures these changes with Quintero's punchy yawlps, Lopez's original bass lines, Stage's backing vocals, and refined production thanks to UCSD's Conrad Prebys Music Center, where the band recorded much of the EP before Oczkowski left.

Oczkowski remains as a recording member of Batwings and plays shows with the band whenever possible, which amounted to three gigs in August 2012 with the full 5-piece.


Sign in to comment

Join our
newsletter list

Enter to win $25 at Broken Yolk Cafe

Each newsletter subscription
means another chance to win!