• Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

All of a sudden, there are reasons to be excited about rock music again. First on the radar for engrossing September releases is the Sheepdogs, a band that’s bringing the boogie back through their feel-good contributions to Southern rock.

After years of gigging as an independent Canada band from Saskatoon, the Sheepdogs received recognition by winning Rolling Stone’s 2011 cover contest and stepped into the spotlight. Earlier this year, they entered Atlantic’s studios in Nashville to record their self-titled major-label debut, with Patrick Carney of the Black Keys at the helm as their producer. The result is a collection of rollicking blues-rock tunes that should secure the Sheepdogs as a staple in today’s rock scene.

Lead singer Ewan Currie’s smooth vocals spur along group harmonies that compliment the transitions between twanging guitar riffs and gut-driven solos. While tracks like “Feeling Good” make Carney’s influence obvious, songs such as “Javelina!” and “I Need Help” prove that the Sheepdogs have a style that is all their own.

  • Album: The Sheepdogs
  • Artist: The Sheepdogs
  • Label: Atlantic Records
  • Songs: 1. Laid Back 2. Feeling Good 3. Alright OK 4. Never Gonna Get My Love 5. Ewan’s Blues 6. The Way It Is 7. Javelina! 8. I Need Help 9. Is Your Dream Worth Dying For 10. How Late, How Long 11. Sharp Sounds 12. In My Mind 13. While We’re Young 14. It Ain’t Easy to Go
  • Story alerts
  • Letter to Editor
  • Pin it

More from SDReader


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!