Sub Rosa

For Flick’s fifth studio album Sub Rosa (recorded at his own Blue Chair Studio), released in early 2013, “Paul Abbot handled the Zen Mastering, putting the final sonic polish on what I honestly feel is my best work to date in all its DIY facets: tighter songs, better production, and more proficient engineering with a clearer result that should inspire a stronger emotional response. Unless you’re a zombie. And hopefully it’ll garner some more lucrative career developments on the interwebs and other medias.”

Fifteen songs were recorded for this album (with one possibility carried over from the Piquant sessions for consideration), and eleven of those made the final cut. “Of the five outtakes,” says Flick, “there were two I felt could still go out in some capacity, namely as free [preview] downloads, as they struck me as strong aural statements, albeit on the rawer side of my genre spectrum.”


1. That Ain't Right
2. Sequester
3. Unnatural Disaster
4. Easy Is Hard Enough
5. Nothing But Love
6. Sharp Suitor
7. After The Fall
8. Action And Rest
9. Shoulda Coulda Woulda
10. Flat Champagne
11. Onus

Flick wrote, performed, engineered, and produced the record. Paul Abbott (of Zen Mastering) handled the mastering.


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader