Album cover

Miss Your Face

1) Radar
2) Nitetime Enemy
3) Loud
4) Chutes and Lasers
5) The Only Evidence
6) Lupus
7) Sheep in Your Head
8) Desiree, Safe!
9) Hey! Is for Horses
10) Operator
11) Safety in the Air

The Transit War isn't doing anything new and it works. While other bands in the area try to route a harpsichord through a vacuum cleaner to get "their sound," the Transit War is playing good ol' 4/4 rock and roll through amplified guitars and a drum set.

One distinguishing feature is the band's three vocalists. While one takes main vocals, the other two harmonize and make each song distinctive but without losing the overall feel of the album; that continuity is another thing they've got going for them.

Some new rock bands sound alike. They sound like Taproot or Staind or whatever the latest crappy one-hit wonder sounds like. A Transit War song is unmistakable. So, what do they sound like? They're a lot of things: emo enough to be compelling and inspirational without being whiny; they're heavy enough to be guitar-driven without the laughable theatrics of (some) metal bands; they're upbeat and punk but more talented across the board than any other SoCal pop punk band, including Unwritten Law, the former blink-182, and Agent 51.

Half the songs on this album are slow love songs or sleepy ballads. They are good, but my favorite is "Chutes and Lasers" because it gets up and kicks some ass.

--- Hometown CD Review 10-12-06


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!