Album cover

Doghouse Rose

Doghouse Rose, a 13-song collection, was produced by Eddie Gore at Insomnia Studios in Nashville, TN. Gore, a Belmont Music School graduate, opened the studio with Steve Cropper, Grammy winner and legendary guitarist and songwriter.

Together, Gore and Petite recruited a host of A-list studio musicians to work on the CD, including:

Kenny Vaughan – Electric Guitar (Marty Stuart, Lucinda Williams)

David “Ro” Rorick – Bass (Johnny Cash and Dwight Yoakum)

Guthrie Trapp – Electric Guitar (Jerry Douglass)

William Ellis – Drums (Keith Anderson)

“Handsome” Harry Stinson – Harmonies (one of the original Dukes of Steve Earle and the Dukes, and current drummer/singer with Marty Stuart)

The 13-song CD reflects a slightly grittier side of Petite, replete with free-wheeling guitars, a free-wheeling dobro and a subtle Hammond B3. The result is a mix of driving roots rock and creative country, all bound together through lyrics about American life, from the people we meet to places we go and people we love, to painful relationships and passionate encounters.



“Take What I Can Get” (cowritten with Kenny Greenberg)

“Baby Let Me In”

“Doghouse Rose”

“He Called Me Baby” (a Harlan Howard song with Petite’s arrangment)


“Shouldn’t Be Doing This”



“Fade Away”

“Beautiful Thing”

“Promised Land”

“She’s Gonna Fly”


Sign in to comment

Let’s Be Friends

Subscribe for local event alerts, concerts tickets, promotions and more from the San Diego Reader