Christmas Midnight Mass ‘Pasterka’ / 2012 Immense Bethlehem Crib (the St. Francis the Seraphic, Observants, or St. Bernardine Church and Franciscan Monastery in Poznan, Garbary Street, Bernardine Square). Christmas begins with Christmas Day on 25 December and lasts for Twelve Days until Epiphany, on 6 January. The Epiphany (Three Kings’ Day) is celebrated in great style in the countries with high Catholic heritage as the beginning of carnival time. The exceptions are some Greek Orthodox Churches and related churches: Russian and Serbian Orthodox that still celebrate Epiphany as the Theophany on 19 January. For the occasion in some cultures, it includes the baking of a special King's Cake (puff pastry, sponge cakes or fruitcakes) as part of the festivities of Epiphany. In French Catholic culture the ‘la galette des Rois or le gateau des Rois’ (also known as ‘Rosca de Reyes’, ‘Roscon’, ‘Bolo Rei’, ‘Banitsa’, ‘Tortell’, and ‘Vasilopita’) follows the old tradition. Christmastide is the time extending from the Vigil Mass of Christmas (Christmas Eve) to the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord (on Sunday after 6 January). The Christmastime ends with the Candlemas on 2 February.

  • Pinterest


Sign in to comment

Win a $25 Gift Card to
The Broken Yolk Cafe

Join our newsletter list

Each newsletter subscription means another chance to win!