Album cover


Hometown CD Review 11-29-07

Although played well, the first half of this album doesn't offer much except strict reggae -- no liberties are taken, no boundaries expanded. Soft atmospheric effects, such as a rushing waterfall and chirping birds, add a small amount of interest, but those things are discarded quickly in favor of the standard rock-steady beat and Jamaican sound. Ontai's lead guitar lightly follows along with jazzy plucks and delves into a nice solo on "Midnight Hour."

The album's narrative runs from sweetly serenading love interests or the complicated feelings of a love gone awry to declarations of independence, as in "Runnin," which goes, "It's up to every man/ for him to choose a path/ and find his promised land."

By track 4, "Sweet Anela," the band shuffles off the regulations and restrictions of rigid reggae and blends in some Polynesian influences, including a plucky ukulele. The album takes on a breezier beach rhythm but maintains a reggae sensibility. Track 5, "Wrapped Up," marks the shift from lyrics of drums and smoke to "crystal-clear waters" and Hawaiian girls.

Together, the Polynesian and Jamaican intermingling have proven successful for the band. Two songs, "Midnight Hour" and "Sugar," are getting regular radio play in Hawaii.

1) Midnight Hour
2) Sugar
3) Runnin
4) Sweet Anela
5) Wrapped Up
6) Where's That Girl
7) Spreading Culture
8) Pretty Face
9) Get Down
10) Love at First Sight


Sign in to comment

Join our
newsletter list

Enter to win $25 at Broken Yolk Cafe

Each newsletter subscription
means another chance to win!